RSS

Bragging Rights

21 Apr

I think I’ve earned them.

At least that’s what I tell myself.

Even if I haven’t, I’m going to do a little bragging anyway.

I’m not checking this blog often, not because I’m not writing but because I’ve taken a break and slowed things down.  Since that writing conference in October and my realization that my goal is to be read, not necessarily “published”, I’ve been focusing on my WattPad account.  In the year since I first took the layoff and spent six months devoted to writing, I’ve finished four manuscripts.

FOUR!

Granted, all of them had been partially started years ago, but finishing all four of them in one year’s time is a feat I’m proud to brag about.

I’ve got plenty more where they came from, some with potential to become full blown novels.  I’ve also got at least three other stories flying around my brain that need to be started from scratch.  I’m not at a loss for material.

However, it’s been nice to set a slower pace.  I’m working part time, three days a week, at my “real job” and am happy to be back.  I love what I do there and I enjoy my co-workers.  Like any job, it’s got its bad points but overall, I enjoy the days I get out of the house to go to work.

That being said, my brain is still constantly tossing around new characters and plot lines, taking notes on the people around me and filing it away to weave into a future story.  It’s not something I can turn off no matter how far I try to step away from it.  There are days this gift takes control and I forget that I’ve got diapers to change or laundry to fold or a “real” life in general.

So, when I have the free time (and no one to neglect, at least too much), I’m still writing.  I’m currently posting the fifth finished novel to WattPad and watching its readers climb before I’ve got it all uploaded!  I LOVE this site and find it a much better outlet for my desire to write and be read.  The feedback is immediate and it’s from the audience that counts – my readers, not an agent or a publisher.

I don’t know if I’ll ever truly pursue traditional publishing.  Maybe someday I’ll self publish, just for the sake of it.  For now, I’m quite happy watching people read my stories online for free.  So happy, in fact, I wanted to brag a little.  😉

My current novels and numbers:

Unbidden – 104 reads  (has only been posted for 2 weeks and isn’t finished yet)

Chasing Amy – 1,045 reads (has been posted for roughly 3 months)

All I Never Wanted – 13,626 reads

Broken Vows – 33,306 reads

Full Circle – 7,156 reads

While I’m not the most popular writer on the site nor do my numbers even come close to some of the people on WattPad, I am extremely proud of what I’ve accomplished so far.

Just so you don’t think I’ve let it all go to my head – I still give credit to God for this gift and the ability to share it with others.  As much as I love writing and creating, my ultimate hope is that He somehow uses my small efforts to make a big impact in someone else’s life.  Otherwise, what’s the point?

In case you’re intrigued enough to check out the stories, here’s the link to my WattPad account:
http://www.wattpad.com/user/AbbyCraig

Happy Reading!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 21, 2014 in Reading, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
