RSS

Subtle is not my Forte

07 Oct

Sometimes I wonder if anyone actually reads this blog. . .or my posts on Facebook. . .or gets tired of hearing me talk about writing.   Sometimes I wonder if people really support this rather reclusive gift that takes me out of myself and into another world. . . and away from the laundry or thoughts of dinner or the fact that my children have dropped the atomic bomb in my living room.

You may say you do. . .but do you really?

We all have our own lives, our own desires and dreams and responsibilities.  It’s very hard to stay focused on, and supportive of, someone else when you’re busy juggling the 52 crazy pieces of your own life.  I try not to be pushy because I get it.  I want your support and I want you to read my stuff and I want your feedback.  However, I understand that you can’t always fit it in and that it may not be a priority in your schedule.  You want to offer me something but at the end of the day there just isn’t anything left.

Believe me, I’m right there with you.

So when someone slides a little subtle support under my nose it tends to catch me off guard and I’m like, “Oh, wow, I guess they really DO care in their own little way.”  Yay!

Take my mother-in-law for instance.  She knows I write and she knows I’ve posted stuff online.  But I’m not convinced she’s ever read one word – even the title – of any of my books.  She’s not the type of person I can sit down with and dreamily ramble to about my characters or how many hits I’ve gotten on Watt Pad or my next plot idea.  Sometimes I wonder if she even takes my craft seriously.

Then out of the blue she sends me an email telling me about a Writer’s Conference coming to our area.  Huh.  I guess she does take me seriously after all.

I’m loathe (and a bit ashamed) to admit that I read the email and then promptly forgot about it in the midst of cleaning up the bomb in my living room.

Then I get a phone call from my husband this morning and he says, “Hey, I heard this ad on the radio about the West Branch Writer’s Conference and . . .”   He goes on to tell me about the workshops and the registration fee and the fact that I can schedule an appointment with a real, live, in the flesh editor or agent to get some tips and feedback on my manuscripts.

I immediately remember the email my mother-in-law sent and resist the urge to face-palm myself.  Since my oldest daughter is at Preschool and my baby is down for a nap I decide I better look into while I have the chance!

I’m also impressed that my husband A)  heard the ad and B) took the time to call me and urge me to register.  His words were something along the lines of “I think you should do this.”

Why am I so impressed?  One, because the conference runs from 8am to 4pm on a Saturday, so guess who will be watching both girls alone that day?

Yep, that’s right.

And two, because there are many times I wonder if he regrets his decision to buy me this laptop and urge me to take my writing seriously.  It came as a gift for our ninth anniversary and has been put to good use in the two years since.  There are probably days he thinks I love my laptop and my characters more than I love him.  He comes home more times than not to laundry half done, toys strewn everywhere, recycling devouring our kitchen counter and no dinner in sight because when I have a free moment from my kids I’d rather be writing than accomplishing anything else.

He probably wishes I’d spend more time in reality than in fantasy land.  My only excuse?  I just can’t help it!

These ideas find me, I don’t go chasing them.  And then they run around in my head, picking up speed, until I absolutely have to get it out or I’ll explode!  Or at least not be able to sleep at night.

So yes, his adamant declaration that I attend this conference caught me off-guard.

On the other side of that coin, he probably tires of hearing me lament about my dream to quit my day job and write full-time, to be a published author.  And that’s never going to happen if I don’t put myself out there and make contact with the big wigs.  Maybe this is his way of saying, “Shut up already and do something about it!”

See. . .subtlety is NOT my forte!

The bottom line is this. . . .I am grateful for their support even though my dream of writing may not be one they understand and may take me away from them more often than not.

So even if I don’t have hundreds of readers flocking to hang on every word I blog, those of you who do take the time to stop in, read, and give me a thumbs up are appreciated VERY MUCH!

For those of you who may be cheering for me silently. . .don’t be afraid to be obvious.  I don’t do subtle.   😉

And I wouldn’t mind a few prayers either.  This will be my first writer’s conference ever and I’m nervous because I’ll be attending with a bunch of people I don’t know and I’m afraid the editor/agent I meet with will laugh in my face when I hand him my baby.  I mean my manuscript. . .

So a few petitions for confidence and kind peers would be great!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 7, 2013 in christian

 

Leave a Reply

 
