RSS

Second Place Ribbon

27 Sep

So. . . I am MUCHO excited to share with you that I won a second place ribbon in a writing challenge!

My FaithWriters website hosts weekly writing challenges, throwing out a one word topic and letting us run with it.  I’ve submitted two other articles in the past and while I got positive feedback from them, I never placed anywhere near the top three.

However, last week I made a last-minute decision to write an article concerning “Exam”.  And by last minute, I mean I was seven minutes away from not making the deadline!  Nothing like a little pressure to bring out the best in a person.

The results were posted yesterday and I logged on to find I had taken second place in my level.  I even got a little blue ribbon posted at the top of my article!  Woohoo!

It doesn’t really mean anything. . .I don’t get a prize for this, it doesn’t get published anywhere other than the website.  But it made me feel good!  Of all the entries submitted for that level, I came in second.  I was so excited I had to call my Mommy!   😉

If you would like to read the article I would be more than happy to let you.  You can follow this link:

http://www.faithwriters.com/wc-article-level2-previous.php?id=46792

I’ve also been keeping tabs on the three novels I have posted at WattPad.  I recently finished the third story, All I Never Wanted, and have been watching excitedly as it climbs in reads.  I’m only 10 reads away from hitting the 1,000 mark!  It’s attracted readers much faster than my other two, though I have a feeling it’s the success of Broken Vows that has led people to find it.

Broken Vows sits at 20,985 reads. . .it’s still ranked high on the What’s Hot list, though it has dropped to page three.   :-p

Full Circle is slowly picking up readers as well, again I feel because of the success of Broken Vows.  It’s at 5,353 reads and counting.

I’m so excited to watch the numbers and get positive comments and helpful feedback from my readers.  Even if I never land a paper novel onto the best seller’s list, I still feel accomplished.  I’ve finished three books and I’ve got people reading them!  Awesome!

I returned to my “real” job this past week so the two days I used to devote to writing are once again filled by nutrition counseling.  I’m glad to be back, I really do love the people I work with.  And surprisingly, they seem to like me too.  😉   At least, I’m assuming they do seeing as how I had a Dunkin Donuts Pumpkin Muffin waiting for me on my desk Thursday morning with a welcome back note.   🙂

That doesn’t mean I’m going to stop writing, it just means my time is limited.  I’ve been looking over some of the unfinished manuscripts I have, trying to decide if I want to return to one of them or if I want to run with a brand new idea I’ve been stewing over.  Right now, I’m enjoying the break from writing and letting my mind wander until it settles on the next great idea!

Thanks for all your support and please, keep checking in!

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 27, 2013 in christian, Indie Writers, Reading, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
