RSS

Not so coincidental. . .

29 Aug

For those of you who bothered to read my blog musings yesterday, I wanted to share this with you today.  As a member of FaithWriters.com I get devotionals emailed to me daily.  I’m not great at logging in and reading them every single day, so (I’m sorry to say) a lot of them end up getting deleted without me ever reading them.

HOWEVER!

When I checked my email this morning I decided to see what today’s devotional had to say and I’m SO glad I did.  It spoke right to me.  And while there may be such a thing as coincidence in life, I don’t believe anything with God is a coincidence.  He knows what we need when we need it. . .it’s up to us to listen for his response.

The devotional talked about change and how everything in life has seasons. . .including us.  Even though the winter seasons are hard to go through they are important for creating new growth and new life in the spring.  It’s an opportunity for us to weed and prune all the overgrown junk of the previous season in an effort to get ready for the next.  It sounds a lot more “romantic” than it feels, but it did make me realize that while being in employment limbo for the past few months hasn’t been fun it HAS given me a chance to know myself better and come to terms with where I am in life and how I want to contribute.

It’s given me the opportunity to embrace a part of myself that I’ve always been a little embarrassed over. . .the Writer.  I feel like I finally acknowledged a part of me that God wants me to be . . .and the freedom in that feels exhilarating!  I tried to keep that part of me hidden or at least subdued because I thought no one would ever take me seriously when I told them that I write.  Turns out, I was the one who needed to take me seriously.

Even though I have no more knowledge about where I’m headed than I did yesterday, I have been reassured by a Heavenly Coincidence in my email that He truly is working and that no season lasts forever, including the bad ones.

Here’s the verse from the devotional; the part that hit home for me and made me realize this is how God speaks if we only take the time to listen.

“But forget all that—it is nothing compared to what I am going to do.
For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun!
Do you not see it? I will make a pathway through the wilderness.
I will create rivers in the dry wasteland.”
Isaiah 43:18-19

😀  How awesome is that?!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 29, 2013 in christian, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
