RSS

Brain Drain and Boredom. . . .

12 Jun

I realize that my title doesn’t make sense. . .those two things really don’t go together.

However, that’s how I feel about the writing these days.

Now that Broken Vows is finished it is in the hands of my CP for editing and advice.  So I feel like I’m doing a whole lot of waiting.  (meaning, nothing!)

It is still posted on Authonomy . . .and it’s still a long, slow process towards recognition.  The few who have been willing to read and critique have been positive.  People feel my characters and situations are easy to identify with and that I exhibit strong writing skills.

One reader even said “The book is a nice read, exceptionally well written with a story of love and prejudice, full of beauty and gracefulness. . . .I hope this book will gain momentum very soon.”

From your fingers to God’s ears, my friend.

And it still remains popular on Watt Pad – it had slipped in the ratings for a while and has been fluctuating but is currently holding steady at number three on the What’s Hot list.  I’m nearing 16,000 reads and it seems I get new readers and followers daily.

So, yay!

But I still feel like I’m doing a whole lot of nothing.

So other than sitting on my butt, what have I been attempting to do?

Here comes the brain drain. . . .

Mostly I’ve been reading other people’s work on Authonomy. . . .trading reads is the best way to gain my own recognition.  But man. . . .when you’ve got six books on your list to read at once and only two days a week to devote to every aspect of this process. . .my brain feels like it’s on overload.

I have discovered some great stories on Authonomy and wish I had the time to sit and read the books from beginning to end.  One of them is currently available through Amazon, so I may have to look it up and “officially” read the whole book.

The rest of my time has been spent searching for ways to hone my skills and learn the ins and outs of finding an agent.

I do have access to a course which helps the writer build/hone their skills in novel writing. . .and also teaches us the process of selling to a publisher.    However, it usually doesn’t start until the fall and it’s got a pricey tuition fee.  Seeing as how I’m currently a “starving artist”, I’m not sure I can scrounge up the funds to enroll.

Plus, I have no idea what my employment status will be in the fall.  I’m hoping I can go back to my “real” job – at least in a part-time capacity as before; if that doesn’t happen I will be looking for something else.

As much as I would love to say Sayonara to the regular 9-5 grind, I do need something to pay my bills.  Right now, writing isn’t it.

So between the worrying for the future, the hoping for success, and the learning curve into the publishing world I do feel at times that my brain is oozing out my ears.

My only conclusion to solve both these dilemmas?

Get back to writing!  That’s the fun part!

I’ve got one manuscript that’s been on hold – some of you may even remember Chasing Amy.  And I’ve got a solid idea for a brand new story.  So, I think I’ll take a break from the brain drain and boredom and get back to doing what I love.

Writing.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 12, 2013 in christian, Indie Writers, love, Reading

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
