RSS

Intimidating and Overwhelming

05 Jun

You know that feeling when you’re in a large crowd of people all going in the same direction and instead, you’re going the opposite way?

You’re constantly trying to move forward but getting jostled around and poked with elbows and sometimes stopped in your tracks while you dance with someone in front of you.

You feel like you’re not making any progress and wasting energy.

If only you didn’t have to go to the bathroom so bad, you’d give up!   😉

That’s how I feel since joining Authonomy.  There are SO many people on this site and ALL of them (at least the handful I’ve encountered) are great writers.

It’s not like Watt Pad where there are a few great ones, mostly mediocre and a lot of not so good stuff.

The people of Authonomy mean business and they’ll eat you alive if you aren’t as dedicated or serious about the craft as they are.

Throughout the month as books are ranked, the folk at Harper Collins keep a running list of the top 5 books.  At the end of the month those top five authors get to go to the Editor’s Desk.  Their books get reviewed by a group of Harper Collins editors and they then give feedback on the manuscript.

If you’re good, the company may even choose to publish you.

Those are some rather coveted five spots.  And it’s pretty much up to you to market yourself and find people who will read and rank your story.

My current ranking is 5,875.  I’m a LONG way from the top five spots.

It took me well over a year to start building up a following on Broken Vows and it’s only been within the past three or four months that it really took off.  Good things take time.  I understand this.

But at Authonomy I feel like a small fish in a big pond full of huge fish.  Working my way through all the other authors and titles, getting my work noticed, feels almost impossible.

I knew this wouldn’t be easy and that I had a long way to go before I was ready to solicit an agent.  I need the critical feedback from other writers so I can polish my work.

It’s the process of finding those people and getting noticed amongst the competition that seems so daunting!

But I have faith in my writing, in my ability to weave a story that rings true with my readers.

So even though I feel like I’m standing still right now, I will keep at it.

One of these days I’ll find the bathroom!   😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 5, 2013 in christian, Indie Writers, love, Reading, romance

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
